4

World War II Novels and Nonfiction

Posted by Sherry on 9/1/2017 in Booklists, General, World War II |

On September 1, 1939, Hitler invaded Poland, and World War II began. So I’ve gathered up for you and for me a list of as many of the reviews of novels and nonfiction set during World War II that I could find while looking through the back posts of the Saturday Review of Books. Adult […]

0

The Jersey Brothers by Sally Mott Freeman

Posted by Sherry on 8/25/2017 in 1941, 1942, 1943, 1944, 1945, Nonfiction, World War II |

It’s raining; it’s pouring here in Houston, Texas. And Hurricane Harvey is headed for Corpus Christi and set to bring Houston a whole heck of a lot of more rain and possible/probable flooding. And my personal and family life is a bit of a mess, too. However, if ever a book would cause me to […]

1

Up Periscope by Robb White

According to Jan Bloom’s Who Should We Then Read, Volume 2, author Robb White’s books are “high action, well-written adventure yarns peopled with realistically drawn, likable characters in plausible yet exciting situations.” This particular yarn is a World War II submarine adventure that takes place in the South Pacific. Kenneth Braden, lieutenant (junior grade), U.S. […]

1

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman

Posted by Sherry on 3/28/2017 in 1944, History, Movies, Nonfiction, Poland, World War II |

I read The Zookeeper’s Wife back in 2008 and wrote about it on Semicolon. Since the book is set to become a movie at the end of March, here are my thoughts on the book at the time I read it. *********** Jan Zabinski was the Polish director of the Warsaw Zoo in 1939 when […]

0

Aim by Joyce Moyer Hostetter

Posted by Sherry on 1/25/2017 in 1941, 1942, 2016, Children's Fiction, General, World War II |

Aim is a prequel to Ms. Hostetter’s two books about Ann Fay Honeycutt, Blue and Comfort. Aim is about Junior Bledsoe, a secondary, but beloved, character in those other two books. (Ann Fay is the minor character in this one.) The story takes place in 1941-1942. Fourteen year old Junior Bledsoe of Hickory, North Carolina […]

0

The Three-Year Swim Club by Julie Checkoway

Posted by Sherry on 8/30/2016 in 1937, 1938, 1939, General, Nonfiction, World War II |

The Three-Year Swim Club: The Untold Story of Maui’s Sugar Ditch Kids and Their Quest for Olympic Glory by Julie Checkoway. “For readers of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat comes the inspirational, untold story of impoverished children who transformed themselves into world-class swimmers.” The author, Julie Checkoway, is a National Endowment for the […]

1

The Chequer Board by Nevil Shute

Posted by Sherry on 7/24/2016 in 1947, Adult Fiction, Around the World, Burma, Historical fiction, World War II |

I have had this book on my TBR list for a few years, but I haven’t been able to find a copy anywhere, not in my big city library system, not at the local used bookstores. So when I found a copy at the Blooms’ little bookstore, I was delighted. Britisher Nevil Shute (Norway) is […]

2

A Year of Borrowed Men by Michelle Barker

1944. Not all World War 2 stories, even those about prisoners, are about concentration camps and horror and death. Even those stories that exist in the shadow of death and destruction can be human and hopeful. A Year of Borrowed Men is one such hopeful war story about kindness and friendship. Seven yer old Gerda’s […]

0

The Bomber’s Moon by Betty Vander Els

Posted by Sherry on 3/22/2016 in 1942, Children's Fiction, China, General, World War II |

This fictional treatment of missionary children escaping World War II China reads almost like a memoir. In a brief search on the internet, I couldn’t find any information about the author, Betty Vander Els, but I would almost bet that this story is a fictionalized version of her own experiences or those of a very […]

0

Silence Over Dunkerque by John Tunis

Posted by Sherry on 2/24/2016 in 1940, Adult Fiction, Historical fiction, World War II, Young Adult Fiction |

Mr. Tunis was known as “the inventor of the modern sports story.” He wrote numerous sports novels featuring young baseball players and young football players, but her did not consider himself a “children’s writer”, even though his publishers insisted on marketing his books to young people. Since there was no separate “young adult” publishing sector […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.