1

If you like Little House: The Older (Golden) Years of Laura . . .

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

0

Remembrance by Theresa Breslin

I read Remembrance for my journey to Scotland last month because it was the only book by Theresa Breslin, Carnegie medal winning Scottish author, that my library system had. And it was set during World War I, a favorite time period. There were definitely echoes of Downton Abbey in the book. Seventeen year old John […]

1

The Family Romanov by Candace Fleming

Posted by Sherry on 4/12/2015 in 1918, General, Russia, World War I |

The Family Romanov: Murder Rebellion, and the Fall of Imperial Russia by Candace Fleming. Were the Romanov family a Christian family, persecuted by the evil Communist revolutionaries and ultimately martyrs to their (Orthodox) faith? “Alix (Alexandra) . . . spent hours a day on her knees in prayer.” (p.28) “God’s will must always be accepted […]

0

March 18th: St. Alexander of Jerusalem and Second Lieutenant Owen

Posted by Sherry on 3/18/2014 in 1918, General, Poetry Project, Poets and poetry, World War I |

St. Alexander was a bishop in Jerusalem in the third century, and he is known for having founded a theological library and a school in Jerusalem during his tenure there. When he was an old man, he was arrested and taken to prison in Caesarea where he died, after being physically tortured and almost fed […]

2

The Return of the Soldier by Rebecca West

Posted by Sherry on 5/25/2012 in 1914, 1918, Adult Fiction, Literary fiction, World War I |

“[S]he had forgotten that it is the first concern of love to safeguard the dignity of the beloved, so that neither God in his skies nor the boy peering through the hedge should find in all time one possibility for contempt . . .” I’m not sure what that statement means, to guard someone else’s […]

3

World War One for Children and Young Adults

Posted by Sherry on 4/30/2012 in 1914, 1918, Children's Fiction, General, World War I |

I read three novels in the past couple of weeks for children and young adults that were set before, during, and after World War I. I’ll have to say that each of the books was odd in its own way: odd prose style in the first, an unexpected twist that I almost didn’t see coming […]

2

1918: Arts and Entertainment

Posted by Sherry on 10/3/2011 in 1918, 20th Century History Project, Music and Hymns |

Here’s a link to a spotify playlist of favorite songs from the 1910″s: The socialspotify.com widget, requires javascript to initiate The songs on the playlist are: Alexander’s Ragtime Band St. Louis Blues COme Josephine in my Flying Machine Keep the Home Fires Burning K-K-K-Katy Over THere It’s a Long Way to Tipperary Roses of Picardy […]

0

1918: Events and Inventions

Posted by Sherry on 10/1/2011 in 1918, 20th Century History Project, General |

March, 1918. Russia signs the Treaty of Brest-Livosk with Germany and Austria-Hungary, leaving World War 1. Under the terms of the peace treaty, Germany and Turkey gain large regions of western and southern Russia. March 31, 1918. The Germans launch a massive offensive on the Western Front, and the Allies retreat in confusion toward Paris. […]

1

1918: Books and Literature

Posted by Sherry on 10/1/2011 in 1918, 20th Century History Project, Nonfiction |

American author Willa Cather published her novel, My Antonia, in 1918. It’s a story about the life of a Bohemian immigrant girl who lives on the prairie in a town called Black Hawk, Nebraska. His Family by Ernest Poole won the first Pulitzer Prize for the novel in 1918. Booth Tarkington continued to be a […]

2

Reading about the Spanish Influenza Pandemic of 1918-1919

Posted by Sherry on 9/30/2011 in 1918, 20th Century History Project, Booklists, General |

Hero Over Here by Kathleen Kudlinski. Theodore’s father and brothers are heroes —fighting the enemy during World War I. Theo learns his own lesson about heroism when he must take care of his entire family, mother and sisters, during the deadly flu epidemic of 1918. A Time of Angels by Karen Hesse. Hannah flees Boston […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.