1

2017 Middle Grade Fiction: Short Takes

Posted by Sherry on 10/11/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Cybil Awards, Fantasy Fiction, General |

Apartment 1986 by Lisa Papademetriou. While skipping school, Cassie meets Cassius, an unschooled and independent spirit who is doing research on art at museums all over NYC. Cassie is dealing with her own family and personal issues, and she and Cassius become friends and allies as they discover that Callie’s family history is both surprising […]

1

A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge

Posted by Sherry on 10/4/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, Young Adult Fiction |

There will be time, there will be time To prepare a face to meet the faces that you meet; There will be time to murder and create, And time for all the works and days of hands That lift and drop a question on your plate; Time for you and time for me, And time […]

0

Thick As Thieves by Megan Whalen Turner

Posted by Sherry on 9/27/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, General |

I liked Megan Whalen Turner’s The Thief, but I didn’t love it. I think I liked Thick As Thieves better, but I don’t really remember too much about The Thief. Set in the same world as the Queen’s Thief books, Thick as Thieves chronicles the journey of Kamet, the slave of the Mede nobleman, Nahuseresh. […]

0

Orphan Island by Laurel Snyder

Posted by Sherry on 9/26/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, General |

Nine on an island, orphans all, Any more, the sky might fall. Nine orphan children live on an island. When the green boat brings another young child to the island, the oldest one must leave. Then, the next oldest one cares for the new little one, until it’s his or her turn to leave. That’s […]

1

The Dragon With a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis

Posted by Sherry on 9/25/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, General |

Aventurine the adventurous dragon meets a food mage and gets turned into a puny, thin-skinned human girl, but she still has the heart of a dragon. She still believes that she is the fiercest creature on the mountain or in the city of Drachenburg. At least, most of the time she believes it, until she […]

0

The Button Girl by Sally Apokedak

Posted by Sherry on 9/19/2017 in Fantasy Fiction, General, Young Adult Fiction |

I want to talk one of my adult children into naming one of my grandchildren Repentance Joyous Forgiveness Abounding (Atwater), the name of the main character in this fantasy novel about a world of slaves and masters and societal upheaval. Sixteen year old Repentance lives in the foggy lowlands in a breeder village where the […]

1

York by Laura Ruby

Posted by Sherry on 9/18/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, General |

York, Book One, The Shadow Cipher by Laura Ruby. This middle grade alternate history and steampunk-ish fantasy had a few awkward phrases and descriptions, and I’m not at all sure that all the loose ends were gathered together by the end of the book. (Understandable, since it’s the first book in a series.) However, Ms. […]

3

If you like Narnia . . .

Posted by Sherry on 7/10/2017 in Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, General |

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

0

The House of Months and Years by Emma Trevayne

Posted by Sherry on 6/16/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, General |

This middle grade fantasy about a spooky house that allows certain “special” people to travel through time and space didn’t quite work for me. I’m trying to figure out why. 1) I think it’s it’s a little too creepy, spooky for my tastes. An older man/ghost, Horatio, takes on ten year old Amelia as a […]

0

A Traveller in Time by Allison Uttley

If ever the term “time slip” applied to a book, it’s this one: Penelope Taberner Cameron slips in and out of two time periods, the twentieth century and the late sixteenth century, like butter slipping about on a plate. She never knows exactly when or how she will slip out of her own time at […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.