2017 Middle Grade Fiction: Short Takes

Posted by Sherry on 10/11/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Cybil Awards, Fantasy Fiction, General |

Apartment 1986 by Lisa Papademetriou. While skipping school, Cassie meets Cassius, an unschooled and independent spirit who is doing research on art at museums all over NYC. Cassie is dealing with her own family and personal issues, and she and Cassius become friends and allies as they discover that Callie’s family history is both surprising […]


Tumble and Blue by Cassie Beasley

Posted by Sherry on 10/10/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, General |

Cassie and Kate Beasley are sisters who both write children’s fiction. They live in rural Georgia, near the swamps, hence the setting of Tumble and Blue in a rural town near the Okefenokee Swamp. Tumble and Blue is dedicated by Cassie to Kate. It seems the sisters not only share a vocation, but also are […]


A Single Stone by Megan McKinlay

I read Laurel Snyder’s Orphan Island just after I read this book. Both books are partly about keeping the traditions that are handed down, obeying the laws of your own community, and questioning those traditions and laws. But each book comes to a very different conclusion. In Orphan Island, questioning and breaking with tradition lead […]


Middle Grade Speculative Fiction Books in Search of a Nomination

Posted by Sherry on 10/4/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Cybil Awards, General |

Cybils nominations are now open. These are some middle grade speculative fiction books that I’ve either read or intended to read that also have NOT yet been nominated. I believe all of the following books are eligible for this year’s Cybils nominations and fit into the middle grade speculative fiction category. Books in search of […]


A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge

Posted by Sherry on 10/4/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, Young Adult Fiction |

There will be time, there will be time To prepare a face to meet the faces that you meet; There will be time to murder and create, And time for all the works and days of hands That lift and drop a question on your plate; Time for you and time for me, And time […]


Bravelands #1: Broken Pride by Erin Hunter

Posted by Sherry on 10/2/2017 in 2017, Africa, Children's Fiction, General |

Grass-eaters, meat-eaters, scavengers, predators and prey—all live together in the grassy savannah lands of Africa, more or less peacefully, following the ancient code of Bravelands. The primary rule of the Code: Kill only to survive. But things are changing in Bravelands, first among the lions where Gallantpride, headed by the male lion Gallant, is stolen […]


Thick As Thieves by Megan Whalen Turner

Posted by Sherry on 9/27/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, General |

I liked Megan Whalen Turner’s The Thief, but I didn’t love it. I think I liked Thick As Thieves better, but I don’t really remember too much about The Thief. Set in the same world as the Queen’s Thief books, Thick as Thieves chronicles the journey of Kamet, the slave of the Mede nobleman, Nahuseresh. […]


Orphan Island by Laurel Snyder

Posted by Sherry on 9/26/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, General |

Nine on an island, orphans all, Any more, the sky might fall. Nine orphan children live on an island. When the green boat brings another young child to the island, the oldest one must leave. Then, the next oldest one cares for the new little one, until it’s his or her turn to leave. That’s […]


The Dragon With a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis

Posted by Sherry on 9/25/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, General |

Aventurine the adventurous dragon meets a food mage and gets turned into a puny, thin-skinned human girl, but she still has the heart of a dragon. She still believes that she is the fiercest creature on the mountain or in the city of Drachenburg. At least, most of the time she believes it, until she […]


Restart by Gordon Korman

Posted by Sherry on 9/22/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, General |

Chase’s memory just went out the window. Chase doesn’t remember falling off the roof. He doesn’t remember hitting his head. He doesn’t, in fact, remember anything. He wakes up in a hospital room and suddenly has to learn his whole life all over again . . . starting with his own name. Even though I […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.