0

A Traveller in Time by Allison Uttley

If ever the term “time slip” applied to a book, it’s this one: Penelope Taberner Cameron slips in and out of two time periods, the twentieth century and the late sixteenth century, like butter slipping about on a plate. She never knows exactly when or how she will slip out of her own time at […]

1

New York Herald Tribune Spring Book Festival Awards

Posted by Sherry on 1/20/2017 in 1937, 1938, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1942, 1943, 1944, 1945, 1946, Children's Fiction, General |

In 1937 two awards of $250 each were established by the New York Herald-Tribune for the best books for younger children and for older children published between January and June. In 1941 the system of awards was revised. Three awards, of $200.00 each, were given to the best books in the following three classes: young […]

2

FNFC: Sully and The King’s Speech

Posted by Sherry on 1/16/2017 in 1939, Movies |

We watched two of the movies on my Friday Night Film Club list this past week, one on Thursday night and the other on Friday. And in both cases the person who chose the movie wasn’t there to watch it. Oh, well, the rest of us enjoyed the movies. Engineer Husband and I went to […]

0

The Three-Year Swim Club by Julie Checkoway

Posted by Sherry on 8/30/2016 in 1937, 1938, 1939, General, Nonfiction, World War II |

The Three-Year Swim Club: The Untold Story of Maui’s Sugar Ditch Kids and Their Quest for Olympic Glory by Julie Checkoway. “For readers of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat comes the inspirational, untold story of impoverished children who transformed themselves into world-class swimmers.” The author, Julie Checkoway, is a National Endowment for the […]

4

Heidi’s Children by Charles Tritten

Posted by Sherry on 7/13/2016 in 1939, Around the World, Children's Fiction, Switzerland |

The two sequels to Johanna Spyri’s beloved Heidi, Heidi Grows Up and Heidi’s Children, were neither written nor endorsed by Spyri, but were adapted from her other works by her French translator, Charles Tritten, in the 1930s, many years after the Swiss author of Heidi died. Nevertheless, I read them both when I was a […]

4

We Never Stood Alone by Bob DeGray

Posted by Sherry on 10/19/2015 in 1939, Adult Fiction, General, Historical fiction, World War II |

If you like both World War II fiction and Christian fiction, We Never Stood Alone should be your next read, for sure. My pastor wrote the book, so maybe I’m prejudiced, but I found it absorbing, impeccably researched, and also full of spiritual and practical truth. I certainly can’t say all three of those things […]

2

FDR and the American Crisis by Albert Marrin

History professor Albert Marrin has been writing nonfiction narrative history for quite a while: his first book for young adults was Overlord: D Day and the Invasion of Europe, which was published in 1982. He has written more than thirty history narratives for children and young adults, including Flesh and Blood So Cheap: The Triangle […]

7

Poetry Friday: Winston Spencer Churchill

Posted by Sherry on 3/14/2014 in 1939, 1940, General, Poetry Project, Poets and poetry, World War II |

Winston Churchill was a fascinating man, and he cultivated many vocations and avocations: soldier, politician, journalist, essayist, biographer, historian, bricklayer, painter, pilot, architect, lecturer, spymaster, head of the navy, member of Parliament, and Prime Minister—just to name a few. However, I’ll bet you never thought of him as a poet. All students of World War […]

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

1

Setting: 1936-39, Just Before the War

Posted by Sherry on 1/27/2014 in 1936, 1937, 1938, 1939, Booklists, General |

A friend of ours is writing a book of stories set in a small English village just before World War II, and I’m reading The Last Lion, the second volume of a three volume biography of Winston CHurchill, about the years from 1932-1940. So I’m particularly interested in the time period right now, especially in […]

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3

No Wind of Blame by Georgette Heyer

Posted by Sherry on 3/20/2013 in 1939, 20th Century History Project, Adult Fiction, General, Mysteries |

I’m definitely a fan of Golden Age detective fiction—Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, Rex Stout, Josephine Tey—but I’ve read all the books I can find by those authors. And I’ve tried a few others that are supposed to belong to that particular club, Margery Allingham and John Dickson Carr in particular, and I just didn’t care […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.