0

The Jersey Brothers by Sally Mott Freeman

Posted by Sherry on 8/25/2017 in 1941, 1942, 1943, 1944, 1945, Nonfiction, World War II |

It’s raining; it’s pouring here in Houston, Texas. And Hurricane Harvey is headed for Corpus Christi and set to bring Houston a whole heck of a lot of more rain and possible/probable flooding. And my personal and family life is a bit of a mess, too. However, if ever a book would cause me to […]

0

The Mississippi Bubble by Thomas B. Costain

Posted by Sherry on 8/4/2017 in Landmark history project, Nonfiction |

I’m on a mission to read all of the Landmark series of children’s history books, and Thomas B. Costain is one of my favorite authors, especially his series of books on the medieval history of England: The Conquering Family, The Last Plantaganets, The Magnificent Century, The Three Edwards. I love those books and have read […]

0

If you like Lauren Tarshis’s I Survived books . .

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

2

The Benedict Option by Rod Dreher

Posted by Sherry on 6/15/2017 in Christian Life, Church, Community, Current Events, General, Nonfiction |

So, I’m usually a day late and a dollar short when it comes to talking and writing about the “buzz books”—the ones everyone seems to be discussing at any given time. And since I was on a blog break for Lent, that makes me even later in my entry to the discussion. Nevertheless, I did […]

1

Hero of the Empire by Candice Millard

Posted by Sherry on 5/23/2017 in Biography/Memoir, General, Nonfiction, South Africa |

Hero of the Empire: The Boer War, a Daring Escape, and the Making of Winston Churchill by Candice Millard. “I don’t like this fellow, but he’ll be Prime Minister of England one day.” ~Sir George White in reference to young Winston Churchill. “Winston has spent the best years of his life composing his impromptu speeches.” […]

0

Summer Reading: Sixth, Seventh, and Eighth Grades

Posted by Sherry on 5/5/2017 in Children's Fiction, General, Nonfiction, Summer reading |

Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome. Originally published in 1930, this book is the first in a series of books about a group of adventurous children and a sailboat. Swallows and Amazons introduces the Walker children—John, Susan, Titty, and Roger—their camp on Wild Cat island, the able-bodied catboat Swallow, and their frenemies the two intrepid […]

0

Summer Reading: Fourth and Fifth Grades

Posted by Sherry on 5/4/2017 in Children's Fiction, General, Nonfiction, Summer reading |

Because of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo. The link goes to an interview with my then-eight year old daughter about her impressions of this award-winning book about India Opal Buloni, her smiling dog, and her preacher daddy. First line: “My name is India Opal Buloni, and last summer my daddy, the preacher, sent me to […]

1

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman

Posted by Sherry on 3/28/2017 in 1944, History, Movies, Nonfiction, Poland, World War II |

I read The Zookeeper’s Wife back in 2008 and wrote about it on Semicolon. Since the book is set to become a movie at the end of March, here are my thoughts on the book at the time I read it. *********** Jan Zabinski was the Polish director of the Warsaw Zoo in 1939 when […]

0

Rajpur: Last of the Bengal Tigers by Robert McClung

Posted by Sherry on 3/20/2017 in Nonfiction, Nonfiction Monday |

New in the library, but published in 1982, Rajpur tells the story of a Bengal tiger, born in the forests of southern Nepal and later orphaned when hunters kill both his father and his mother. Rajpur’s sister, Rani, dies of weakness caused by an infection, and Rajpur must hunt and survive alone. The hallmarks of […]

0

St. Patrick’s Day books

Posted by Sherry on 3/16/2017 in Celebrations, Children's Fiction, Folktales, Ireland, Nonfiction |

I have several books for St. Patrick’s Day or about Saint Patrick and Ireland in my library: Shamrocks, Harps, and Shillelaghs: The Story of St. Patrick’s Day Symbols by Edna Barth is more than just a listing of St. Patrick’s Day symbols and customs. It’s a children’s introduction to the history and culture of Ireland, […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.