0

Beyond the Bright Sea by Lauren Wolk

Posted by Sherry on 9/20/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction |

This 2017 middle grade novel has definite Newbery award potential. It reads like a Newbery; the style, subject matter, and pacing reminded me of Katherine Paterson (Jacob Have I Loved) or Clare Vanderpool (Moon Over Manifest), both Newbery award winning authors. If Beyond the Bright Sea wins the Newbery or even a Newbery honor, it […]

1

York by Laura Ruby

Posted by Sherry on 9/18/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, General |

York, Book One, The Shadow Cipher by Laura Ruby. This middle grade alternate history and steampunk-ish fantasy had a few awkward phrases and descriptions, and I’m not at all sure that all the loose ends were gathered together by the end of the book. (Understandable, since it’s the first book in a series.) However, Ms. […]

0

Autumn Beginnings

Posted by Sherry on 8/28/2017 in Autumn, Children's Fiction, General |

Hooray for fall! Here are a few introductory lines from children’s fiction books with an autumn setting—or at least, an autumn beginning: MoominValley in November by Tove Jansson. “Early one morning in Moominvalley Snufkin woke up in his tent with the feeling that autumn had come and that it was time to break camp.” B […]

0

The Song of Glory and Ghost by N.D. Wilson

Posted by Sherry on 8/24/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, General |

I could just say that everything I wrote about the first book in the Outlaws of Time series is true of this one, in spades. If you read and liked The Legend of Sam Miracle, you’ll probably like this second book, too. If you had some issues with the first book —pacing, confusing time shifts, […]

1

Roll by Darcy Miller

Posted by Sherry on 8/22/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, General |

A boy named Lauren, commonly called Ren for obvious reasons, and Sutton, the girl with red, yellow, and orange striped hair who is Ren’s new neighbor, bond and grow a friendship over a common interest in Birmingham Roller pigeons. I’m always interested in looking into new worlds and communities that I never knew about or […]

0

Lassie Come-Home by Eric Knight

Posted by Sherry on 8/9/2017 in 1940, Children's Fiction, England, General, Young Adult Fiction |

I finally read this justly famous and best-selling dog story, and the first surprise was the title. It’s not “Lassie, come home!”, a plea or a command for Lassie to return to home and hearth, as I always thought it was. Instead, “Lassie Come-Home” is a nickname for the faithful collie who does return home, […]

0

Flaming Arrows by William O. Steele

Posted by Sherry on 8/7/2017 in Children's Fiction, General, Historical fiction, US History Project |

Another book that is well-written and sure to appeal to adventure-loving kids, with good themes of reserving judgment and not visiting the sins of the fathers on their children, BUT it’s full of guns and violence and “savages” who are all bad and practically discounted as not human. If you can get past the fact […]

1

We Were There at the Opening of the Atomic Era by James Munves

Posted by Sherry on 7/16/2017 in 1942, Children's Fiction, History |

I don’t know Mr. Munves, but the historical consultant for this book in the historical fiction series We Were There is also a character in the book, Dr. John R. Dunning. Dr. Dunning really was there. In fact, in his introduction to the story, Dr. Dunning explains: “When Mr. Munves asked me to serve as […]

1

If you like Ramona Quimby by Beverly Cleary . . .

Posted by Sherry on 7/12/2017 in Children's Fiction, General, Ireland, Reader's Advisory |

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

3

If you like Narnia . . .

Posted by Sherry on 7/10/2017 in Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, General |

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.