1

We Were There at the Opening of the Atomic Era by James Munves

Posted by Sherry on 7/16/2017 in 1942, Children's Fiction, History |

I don’t know Mr. Munves, but the historical consultant for this book in the historical fiction series We Were There is also a character in the book, Dr. John R. Dunning. Dr. Dunning really was there. In fact, in his introduction to the story, Dr. Dunning explains: “When Mr. Munves asked me to serve as […]

3

If you like Little House on the Prairie . . .

Posted by Sherry on 7/1/2017 in Children's Fiction, General, History, Summer reading |

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

1

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman

Posted by Sherry on 3/28/2017 in 1944, History, Movies, Nonfiction, Poland, World War II |

I read The Zookeeper’s Wife back in 2008 and wrote about it on Semicolon. Since the book is set to become a movie at the end of March, here are my thoughts on the book at the time I read it. *********** Jan Zabinski was the Polish director of the Warsaw Zoo in 1939 when […]

1

Timeline of Middle Grade Fiction 2016

Posted by Sherry on 1/7/2017 in 2016, Children's Fiction, General, Historical fiction, History |

1242: The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog by Adam Gidwitz. travelers from across France cross paths at an inn and begin to tell stories of three children: Jeanne, a peasant girl who has visions, William, an oblate who is half-Saracen and half French, and Jacob, a Jewish boy with […]

0

What’s New in the Library? November 1, 2016

Posted by Sherry on 11/1/2016 in 2016, Biography/Memoir, General, History |

These are just a few of the books that I’ve recently added to my private subscription library for homeschoolers and others in southeast Houston, Meriadoc Homeschool Library: Finding Providence: The Story of Roger Williams by Avi. With lovely illustrations by James Watling, this I Can Read Chapter Book tells the story of the hero of […]

0

How the Scots Invented the Modern World by Arthur Herman

Posted by Sherry on 5/25/2016 in General, History, Nonfiction, Scotland |

How the Scots Invented the Modern World: The True Story of How Western Europe’s Poorest Nation Created Our World & Everything in It by Arthur Herman. What a fascinating piece of narrative nonfiction history! I learned so many things that I didn’t know before: The Treaty of Union between England and Scotland (1706-1707), according to […]

0

Historical Fiction and Nonfiction: Seventeenth Century Europe

Posted by Sherry on 10/29/2015 in Adult Fiction, Booklists, General, Historical fiction, History, Nonfiction |

Last week I reviewed several books set during World War War II. This week my book travels have taken me to seventeenth century Europe. I haven’t read every single one of the following books, but I can generally recommend either the book or the author. What have you read that is set in seventeenth century […]

0

Puritan Adventure by Lois Lenski

Posted by Sherry on 9/7/2015 in Children's Fiction, General, History |

Lois Lenski was a prolific children’s writer who wrote “a collection of regional novels about children across the United States” and a number of historical novels about children of different periods of American history. In Puritan Adventure, Aunt Charity comes to a fictional colony in New England to live with her sister’s family, and she […]

2

1776 by David McCullough

Posted by Sherry on 8/19/2015 in General, History, Nonfiction, US History Project |

I feel as if I learned a lot about the first year of the American War for Independence while reading this book, and I did enjoy it. However, all I can really remember right now is a few broad impressions. The war went really, really badly for the Americans right up until the crossing of […]

2

The Collapse by Mary Elise Sarotte

Posted by Sherry on 6/14/2015 in 1989, Germany, History, Nonfiction |

The Collapse: The Accidental Opening of the Berlin Wall by Mary Elise Sarotte. World Magazine just published its annual issue on books, and one of the books chosen as a runner-up for book of the year in the history/biography category was The Collapse. Coincidentally, I had already heard of the book and requested it from […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.