1

If you like Ramona Quimby by Beverly Cleary . . .

Posted by Sherry on 7/12/2017 in Children's Fiction, General, Ireland, Reader's Advisory |

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

3

If you like the Boxcar children books by Gertrude Chandler Warner . . .

Posted by Sherry on 7/7/2017 in Children's Fiction, General, Reader's Advisory |

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

0

Summer Reading: High School

Posted by Sherry on 5/6/2017 in General, Reader's Advisory, Romance, Summer reading, Young Adult Fiction |

Shaking the Nickel Bush by Ralph Moody. “Skinny and suffering from diabetes, Ralph Moody is ordered by a Boston doctor to seek a more healthful climate. Now nineteen years old, he strikes out into new territory hustling odd jobs, facing the problem of getting fresh milk and leafy green vegetables. He scrapes around to survive, […]

17

What Should I Read Next?

Posted by Sherry on 1/28/2017 in Booklists, General, Reader's Advisory |

I don’t have a lack of reading plans or books to be read. If anything, I have an over-abundance of reading plans and books I want to read. But sometimes I have trouble narrowing down the list to the particular book I want to read next. I thought for the month of February, I’d try […]

7

What Should I Read Next?

Posted by Sherry on 3/28/2016 in Booklists, Reader's Advisory |

I’ve been listening to the podcast, What Should I Read Next? with Ann Bogel, author of the blog Modern Mrs. Darcy. On each podcast, Ms. Bogel interviews a reading guest, asking a few specific questions about the guest’s taste in books, and then recommends three books or authors for the guest’s consideration. I thought I’d […]

2

Lad, a Dog by Albert Payson Terhune

Posted by Sherry on 11/24/2015 in Nonfiction, Reader's Advisory |

What books do you recommend to fans of James Herriot’s wonderful animal stories about a veterinarian in Yorkshire? I’m not much of an animal lover or an animal story reader, although I do like the Herriot books, so I had only a very short list in my head of books that might appeal to animal-loving […]

0

Book Advisory

Posted by Sherry on 10/17/2015 in General, Reader's Advisory |

I’ve been having fun recommending books to people who ask for specific recommendations in the Read Aloud Revival Facebook group and the Ambleside Online Facebook group as well as on my Facebook feed. I thought I’d share some of the requests and recommendations here, just for fun. Request: Favorite living books about seeds, trees and/or […]

1

Saturday Review of Books: 2014 Book Lists

Posted by Sherry on 12/22/2014 in General, Reader's Advisory, Saturday Reviews |

SATURDAY December 27th, will be the annual special edition of the Saturday Review of Books especially for book lists. You can link to a list of your favorite books read in 2014, a list of all the books you read in 2014, a list of the books you plan to read in 2015, or any […]

7

Semicolon Book Recommendations

Posted by Sherry on 11/17/2014 in Celebrations, Christmas, Christmas gifts, Reader's Advisory |

I just found this site, called Anne Knows Books, which offers personalized book recommendations for a reasonable price ($3.00 a month) based on a book profile that you fill out and update regularly. I also noted this post, Why I’m Not Making a Holiday Gift Guide by Alyssa at Everead, in which Alyssa offers to […]

4

Saturday Review of Books: October 11, 2014

Posted by Sherry on 10/10/2014 in Reader's Advisory, Saturday Reviews |

““For one who reads, there is no limit to the number of lives that may be lived, for fiction, biography, and history offer an inexhaustible number of lives in many parts of the world, in all periods of time.” ” ~Louis L’Amour Talk about diversity, the theme at KidLitCon in Sacramento, CA this weekend. I’m […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.