1971: Books and Literature

The Nobel Prize for Literature is awarded to Chilean poet Pablo Neruda.

Newbery Medal for children’s literature goes to Summer of the Swans by Betsy Byars.

Children’s/YA Published in 1971:
The Shrinking of Treehorn by Florence Parry Heide. Reviewed by Nicola at Back to Books.

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien. Winner of the Newbery Medal in 1972.

The Lorax by Dr. Seuss.

Published by


I'm a Christian, the homeschooling mom of eight (yes, all mine) children, married to a NASA engineer, and a confirmed bookaholic. I like old books, conservative politics, and new and interesting ideas. My hair is grey, my favorite clothes are red, and I love purple. Come on in and enjoy the blog. Be sure to tell me what you think before you leave.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *