0

Lassie Come-Home by Eric Knight

Posted by Sherry on 8/9/2017 in 1940, Children's Fiction, England, General, Young Adult Fiction |

I finally read this justly famous and best-selling dog story, and the first surprise was the title. It’s not “Lassie, come home!”, a plea or a command for Lassie to return to home and hearth, as I always thought it was. Instead, “Lassie Come-Home” is a nickname for the faithful collie who does return home, […]

1

If you like Ramona Quimby by Beverly Cleary . . .

Posted by Sherry on 7/12/2017 in Children's Fiction, General, Ireland, Reader's Advisory |

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

1

Up Periscope by Robb White

According to Jan Bloom’s Who Should We Then Read, Volume 2, author Robb White’s books are “high action, well-written adventure yarns peopled with realistically drawn, likable characters in plausible yet exciting situations.” This particular yarn is a World War II submarine adventure that takes place in the South Pacific. Kenneth Braden, lieutenant (junior grade), U.S. […]

0

A Chameleon, a Boy, and a Quest by J.A. Myhre

Posted by Sherry on 6/6/2017 in 2015, Africa, Children's Fiction, Kenya |

Ten year old Mu has lived with the family of his great-uncle, the mukumu (a African traditional priest who can cast curses and give protection from them), for as long as he can remember. Mu is treated more as a servant than as a member of the family, but at least he gets to go […]

0

A Traveller in Time by Allison Uttley

If ever the term “time slip” applied to a book, it’s this one: Penelope Taberner Cameron slips in and out of two time periods, the twentieth century and the late sixteenth century, like butter slipping about on a plate. She never knows exactly when or how she will slip out of her own time at […]

1

The Family From One End Street by Eve Garnett

Posted by Sherry on 5/25/2017 in Children's Fiction, England, General |

Published in 1937, The Family From One End Street and Some of Their Adventures by author/illustrator Eve Garnett broke new ground by detailing the joys and sometimes misadventures of a large working class British family. “Mrs. Ruggles was a Washerwoman and her husband was a Dustman.” (A dustman for us Americans who don’t collect “dust” […]

0

Journey Across the Hidden Islands by Sarah Beth Durst

Posted by Sherry on 5/24/2017 in 2017, Children's Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, General, Japan |

“‘Once, there were two princesses, Sisters. One trained to be a warrior, at the top of a mountain. She was never allowed to go home. The other trained to be the perfect princess. She was never allowed out of the palace. Until one day, when their father said they were ready . . .’ ‘They […]

1

Hero of the Empire by Candice Millard

Posted by Sherry on 5/23/2017 in Biography/Memoir, General, Nonfiction, South Africa |

Hero of the Empire: The Boer War, a Daring Escape, and the Making of Winston Churchill by Candice Millard. “I don’t like this fellow, but he’ll be Prime Minister of England one day.” ~Sir George White in reference to young Winston Churchill. “Winston has spent the best years of his life composing his impromptu speeches.” […]

1

Treasures from Barefoot Books

Posted by Sherry on 4/24/2017 in Around the World, Kenya, Korea, Spain |

Barefoot Books, a publisher and bookseller dedicated to producing inclusive and diverse books, sent me a selection of lovely books that I can’t wait to write about. Their website says, “At Barefoot Books, our mission is to share stories, connect families and inspire children.” I’m impressed with the quality and diversity of the books I […]

0

The Colt From the Dark Forest by Anna Belle Loken

Posted by Sherry on 4/17/2017 in 1959, Children's Fiction, General, Norway |

Horse books are not quite as popular these days as they were when I was a child growing up in West Texas. I certainly knew a lot of girls when I was in junior high school who were obsessed with horses and horse stories. They were all planning to become veterinarians or to raise horses […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.