0

Flaming Arrows by William O. Steele

Posted by Sherry on 8/7/2017 in Children's Fiction, General, Historical fiction, US History Project |

Another book that is well-written and sure to appeal to adventure-loving kids, with good themes of reserving judgment and not visiting the sins of the fathers on their children, BUT it’s full of guns and violence and “savages” who are all bad and practically discounted as not human. If you can get past the fact […]

1

Born August 3rd

Posted by Sherry on 8/3/2017 in --August, Adult Fiction, Birthdays, General, Historical fiction, Mysteries |

Two of my favorite novelists have birthdays today: Baroness Phyllis Dorothy James (b. 1920, d.2014) and Leon Marcus Uris (b. 1924, d. 2003). Although I like her detective novels very much, my favorite P. D. James novel as of now is Children of Men, a dystopian novel about a world where no children are born. […]

0

If you like the American Girl books . . .

Posted by Sherry on 7/4/2017 in Children's Fiction, General, Historical fiction |

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

1

If you like Little House: The Older (Golden) Years of Laura . . .

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

1

Up Periscope by Robb White

According to Jan Bloom’s Who Should We Then Read, Volume 2, author Robb White’s books are “high action, well-written adventure yarns peopled with realistically drawn, likable characters in plausible yet exciting situations.” This particular yarn is a World War II submarine adventure that takes place in the South Pacific. Kenneth Braden, lieutenant (junior grade), U.S. […]

4

Frederica by Georgette Heyer

Posted by Sherry on 6/19/2017 in Adult Fiction, General, Historical fiction, Romance |

Best Regency romance ever with strong characters and witty and slangy repartee. I liked the romantic leads quite a bit, and I even felt sympathy for the ingenue parts, played by Frederica’s sister Charis and her crush. Oh, I just had a thought: this book would translate into a K-drama quite nicely. The male lead […]

2

Devil’s Cub by Georgette Heyer

Posted by Sherry on 6/13/2017 in 1932, Adult Fiction, Historical fiction, Romance |

Set in the late eighteenth century and originally published in 1932, this book has a lot of conflicting cultural mores and values to balance, and I’m just not sure it works in the feminist-imbued twenty-first century. A virtuous young lady, Mary Challoner, disguises herself as her sister who has a date to run away with […]

0

A Traveller in Time by Allison Uttley

If ever the term “time slip” applied to a book, it’s this one: Penelope Taberner Cameron slips in and out of two time periods, the twentieth century and the late sixteenth century, like butter slipping about on a plate. She never knows exactly when or how she will slip out of her own time at […]

0

The Persian Pickle Club by Sandra Dallas

Posted by Sherry on 5/22/2017 in Adult Fiction, General, Historical fiction, Mysteries |

It’s the 1930’s, the depths of the Great Depression, and the farms of Harveyville, Kansas are drying up. No rain. No money. Very little work. And the crops are burning in the fields. The Persian Pickle Club are a group of ladies who meet together to quilt. They work together, share quilt pieces, read together, […]

1

Cleophas and Elizabeth Visit Easter Sunrise Service

We have a tradition in our church of having Biblical characters visit our Easter sunrise service in the park. This year Cleophas and his wife, Elizabeth, from Emmaus told us about their encounter with the resurrected Christ. First Person Drama, written by Pastor Bob DeGray and performed by John Bauer and Zion Early. Based on […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.