2

Saturday Review of Books: July 8, 2017

Posted by Sherry on 7/8/2017 in Saturday Reviews, Summer reading |

“We all ask each other a lot of questions. But we should all ask one question a lot more often: ‘What are you reading?’” ~Will Schwalbe Welcome to the Saturday Review of Books at Semicolon. Here’s how it usually works. Find a book review on your blog posted sometime during the previous week. The review […]

1

If you like Little House: The Older (Golden) Years of Laura . . .

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

3

If you like Little House on the Prairie . . .

Posted by Sherry on 7/1/2017 in Children's Fiction, General, History, Summer reading |

For the month of July, I’m planning a series of posts about readalikes: what to read (or what to suggest to your favorite child reader) when you’ve read all of your favorite author’s books or all of the books of a certain genre that you know of, and you don’t know what to read next. […]

3

Saturday Review of Books: July 1, 2017

Posted by Sherry on 6/30/2017 in Saturday Reviews, Summer reading |

“There’s nothing wrong with reading a book you love over and over. When you do, the words get inside you, become a part of you, in a way that words in a book you’ve read only once can’t.” ~Gail Carson Levine Welcome to the Saturday Review of Books at Semicolon. Here’s how it usually works. […]

2

Saturday Review of Books: June 10, 2017

Posted by Sherry on 6/9/2017 in Saturday Reviews, Summer reading |

“‘Oh, hurry up and get the supper work done so we can read,’ Mary said eagerly. But Ma said, ‘Never mind the work, Laura! Read us a story!’” ~By the Shores of Silver Lake by Laura Ingalls Wilder Welcome to the Saturday Review of Books at Semicolon. Here’s how it usually works. Find a book […]

0

The Camping Trip That Changed America by Barb Rosenstock

“I do not want anyone with me but you, and I want to drop politics absolutely for four days and just be out in the open with you.” ~Theodore Roosevelt’s letter to John Muir, March 14, 1903. Back in the days (1903) when a president could actually go off on a camping trip alone with […]

0

The Seashore Book by Charlotte Zolotow

Posted by Sherry on 5/31/2017 in General, Picture Book Preschool, Summer reading |

Take an imaginary trip to the seashore. This 25th anniversary edition from Charlesbridge publishers of a Charlotte Zolotow classic is illustrated by Wendell Minor, not an illustrator I’m familiar with, but a talented one indeed. From what I can tell, the cover illustration for this new edition is new, but the inside illustrations are the […]

4

Saturday Review of Books: May 27, 2017

Posted by Sherry on 5/26/2017 in General, Saturday Reviews, Summer reading |

“Reading is a respite from the relentlessness of technology, but it’s not only that. It’s how I reset and recharge. It’s how I escape, but it’s also how I engage. And reading should spur further engagement.” ~Will Schwalbe Welcome to the Saturday Review of Books at Semicolon. Here’s how it usually works. Find a book […]

0

Summer Reading: High School

Posted by Sherry on 5/6/2017 in General, Reader's Advisory, Romance, Summer reading, Young Adult Fiction |

Shaking the Nickel Bush by Ralph Moody. “Skinny and suffering from diabetes, Ralph Moody is ordered by a Boston doctor to seek a more healthful climate. Now nineteen years old, he strikes out into new territory hustling odd jobs, facing the problem of getting fresh milk and leafy green vegetables. He scrapes around to survive, […]

0

Summer Reading: Sixth, Seventh, and Eighth Grades

Posted by Sherry on 5/5/2017 in Children's Fiction, General, Nonfiction, Summer reading |

Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome. Originally published in 1930, this book is the first in a series of books about a group of adventurous children and a sailboat. Swallows and Amazons introduces the Walker children—John, Susan, Titty, and Roger—their camp on Wild Cat island, the able-bodied catboat Swallow, and their frenemies the two intrepid […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.