1

Beswitched by Kate Saunders

In The Freedom Maze, Sophie found out that life back in the antebellum South wasn’t all Scarlett O’Hara and Southern plantation mansions. In Beswitched, Flora Fox finds out that a girls’ boarding school in 1935 isn’t exactly filled with modern conveniences either. Time travel is like that: the time traveler who goes back in time […]

0

1935: Events and Inventions

Posted by Sherry on 11/7/2011 in 1935, 20th Century History Project, General |

March 16, 1935. Adolf Hitler announces German rearmament in violation of the Versailles Treaty. March 21, 1935. Persia is officially renamed Iran. June, 1935. Bolivia and Paraguay sign an armistice to end their three-year dispute over the Chaco region. June 10, 1935. Alcoholics Anonymous is founded in Akron, Ohio by William G. Wilson and Dr. […]

4

The Berlin Boxing Club by Robert Sharenow

Nominated for 2011 Cybil Awards, Young Adult Fiction category. Nominated by Teacher.Mother.Reader. Berlin, 1935-1938. Fourteen year old Karl Stern doesn’t look Jewish, and he doesn’t feel Jewish. His family has never been religious, and Karl’s name doesn’t give him away either. However, Germany is slowly but surely becoming a place where it doesn’t matter what […]

7

Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm

Posted by Sherry on 9/24/2010 in 1935, 2010, 20th Century History Project, Children's Fiction, General |

Readalikes: Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain, Soup by Robert Newton Peck, The Great Brain by John D. Fitzgerald, Flush by Carl Hiaassen. Related Movies: The Goonies, Little Rascals, Annie, (NOT Shirley Temple). Song: Mississippi Squirrel Revival Key West, Florida, June, 1935. Take one eleven year girl named Turtle with eyes as “gray as soot” who […]

0

Nonfiction Monday: The Day-Glo Brothers by Chris Barton

The Day-Glo Brothers is subtitled “The True Story of Bob and Joe Switzer’s Bright Ideas and Brand-New Colors.” These are the closest examples I could get of Day-Glo (fluorescent) colors: Fluorescent Green Day-Glo Yellow Day-Glo Orange They’re those colors that crossing guards wear and that characterized the 1960’s, and they glow in the daylight or […]

Copyright © 2003-2017 Semicolon All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com.